Section Navigation

Equality & Diversity and the NHS Equality Delivery System

Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group (OCCG) is committed to ensuring equality, diversity, inclusion and human rights are central to the way we commission and deliver healthcare services and how we support our staff.

The Equality Delivery System

A refreshed Equality Delivery System for the NHS – EDS2

The Equality Delivery System (EDS) was rolled out to the NHS in July 2011 and formally launched in November 2011. The EDS is currently being implemented by the vast majority of NHS organisations across England. The design and implementation of the EDS was independently evaluated by Shared Intelligence in 2012. Based on this evaluation and subsequent engagement with a spread of NHS organisations and stakeholders, a refreshed EDS is now available. It is known as EDS2.

EDS2 is a self-assessment tool that supports the evidence base of OCCG to demonstrate compliance with the Equality Act 2010 general duty and specific duties, as well as demonstrating progress the organisation has made on equality issues.

EDS2 includes the nine protected characteristics covered by the Equality Act 2010, which are –

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender re-assignment
  • Marriage and civil partnership
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race
  • Religion or belief
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation

In addition to the nine ‘protected groups’, other disadvantaged groups can be considered for EDS2. These other disadvantaged groups typically include but are not restricted to: People who are homeless; who live in poverty; who are long-term unemployed; work in stigmatised occupations;  are socially or geographically isolated;  who are socially excluded.

Please read our  EDS2 Summary OCCG 2015_NHS England  to view our grades and summary of the evidence.

For more information please see : NHS England Equality Delivery System

Copyright 2017 © Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group